Congratulations to Prof. Zhong-Qun Tian awarded for 2017 ACS Award in Spectrochemical Analysis

Recently, the academician Prof. Zhong-Qun Tian from College of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering of Xiamen University, the director of Collaborative Innovation Center of Chemistry for Energy Materials (iChEM), has been awarded for ACS Award in Spectrochemical Analysis for his distinguished achievements in surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS) and spectro-electrochemistry. The award will be presented at the ACS National Meeting in August 2017 in Philadelphia, USA.

ACS Award in Spectrochemical Analysis was established in 1987, and only one awardee each year, aiming to reward the scientists who have a significant international impact and make outstanding contributions to the fields of spectrochemical analysis and optical spectrometry. As the only one recipient of this award from China as well as Asia, Prof. Tian is highly acknowledged by international counterparts in spectroscopy for his exploration in frontier science and development of scientific instruments, which also demonstrates the international status and impact of Xiamen University in spectroscopy research.

The group led by Prof. Tian adhere to scientific research with indomitable spirits and made great pioneering contributions not only to the basic research in SERS, spectro-electrochemistry, and nanochemistry, but also in the development and application of some new portable spectroscopy instruments such as food safety inspection.

Congratulations to Prof. Tian for 2017 ACS Award in Spectrochemical Analysis!

Links for the award introduction:

Zhong-Qun Tian
: He earned his B.S. degree in Chemistry from Xiamen University (1982) and his Ph.D., supervised by Professor Martin Fleischmann on electrochemical surface enhanced Raman spectroscopy, from the University of Southampton (1987). He then returned to China and has worked at Xiamen University ever since. He was appointed Full Professor in 1992. His main research interests are surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy, spectro-electrochemistry, plasmonics and molecule assembly. He published 410 papers and holds 25 patents. Tian has won a number of awards for his research including Outstanding Young Scholar Award from Quishi Foundation of Hong Kong (1999), Faraday Medal of Royal Society of Chemistry (2012), Prix Jacques Tacussel of International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE) (2013) and the Innovation Prize of Spectroscopy of Hitachi (2015). He was elected as a Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry (2005), a Fellow of ISE (2010) and a member The World Academy of Sciences (2014). He currently is the President Elect of ISE, a member of the advisory board for over ten international journals including JACS and Chemical Science. He has been an associate editor for Science in China: Chemistry (2008-), J. Raman Spectroscopy (2009-) and Chem. Soc. Rev. (2012-). He is the director of Collaborative Innovation Center of Chemistry for Energy Materials (iChEM) (2014- ).

Update time:2017/2/26 Author:admin Hit:539【Print